Press "Enter" to skip to content

Gmail – Undo Send

Have you ever noticed a typo in the email you’re sending, but just a split second too late? Perhaps you’ve accidentally sent your shopping list to your boss instead of your significant other. Whatever the case may be, we’ve all been there.

Thankfully, Gmail has a creative way to help save you from yourself and it’s known as “Undo Send.” Enabling this setting for your Gmail account will allow you to set a 5-30 second delay between the time you click the send button and the moment when your message actually gets sent off.

How to Enable Undo Send

  1. Login to your Gmail account.
  2. Click on the settings gear, then Settings
  3. Click the checkbox next to Enable Undo Send and specify how long of a pause you’d like after clicking the send button. Ten seconds is just right for me.
  4. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Save Changes

How to “un-send” an Email

From now on, each time you send an email, you’ll have the option to click Undo Send for a few seconds right after you click the send button. The option will appear at the top of your browser window and will look like this:

You’ll notice there are actually two options here:

  • Undo – This will take you back into the Compose Window where you can set things straight before sending again.
  • View message – This will send the message off immediately and take you into your Sent Mail label to view it.

This feature has saved me countless times before. I hope you find it useful, too. Please consider sharing this post with someone else in need of a second chance.

Like what you see? Share it on...

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *